Anatomy of the Adrenal Cortex

The mammalian adrenal cortex is divided into three concentric zones: the zona glomerulosa, zona fascicu-lata, and zona reticularis. The zona glomerulosa produces hormones, such as aldosterone, that are responsi ble for regulating salt and water metabolism; the zona fasciculata produces glucocorticoids; and the zona reticularis produces adrenal androgens. While secretion by the two inner zones is controlled by pituitary adreno-corticotropic hormone (corticotrophin, ACTH), aldos-terone produced by the zona glomerulosa is principally controlled by the renin-angiotensin system. Desoxy-corticosterone, a mineralocorticoid produced in the zona fasciculata, is under corticotrophin control.

The Prevention and Treatment of Headaches

The Prevention and Treatment of Headaches

Are Constant Headaches Making Your Life Stressful? Discover Proven Methods For Eliminating Even The Most Powerful Of Headaches, It’s Easier Than You Think… Stop Chronic Migraine Pain and Tension Headaches From Destroying Your Life… Proven steps anyone can take to overcome even the worst chronic head pain…

Get My Free Audio Book

Post a comment