Section 3

Modern Classification

• The phylogenetic analysis of rRNA nucleotide sequences led to a new "tree of life" consisting of three domains aligned with six kingdoms.

• The three domains are Bacteria, Archaea, and Eukarya.

• Domain Bacteria aligns with Kingdom Eubacteria, which consists of single-celled prokaryotes that are true bacteria.

• Domain Archaea aligns with Kingdom Archaebacteria, which consists of single-celled prokaryotes that have distinctive cell membranes and cell walls.

• Domain Eukarya includes the kingdoms Protista, Fungi, Plantae, and Animalia. All members of this domain have eukaryotic cells.


Bacteria (p. 347) Archaea (p. 347) Eukarya (p. 348)

Eubacteria (p. 348) Archaebacteria (p. 349)

Protista (p. 349) Fungi (p. 350)

Plantae (p. 350) Animalia (p. 350)

Sirens Sleep Solution

Sirens Sleep Solution

Discover How To Sleep In Peace And Harmony In A World Full Of Uncertainty And Dramatically Improve Your Quality Of Life Today! Finally You Can Fully Equip Yourself With These “Must Have” Tools For Achieving Peace And Calmness And Live A Life Of Comfort That You Deserve!

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment