Nitrogenous Bases

The sugar and phosphate group are identical in all DNA nucleotides. However, the nitrogenous base may be any one of four different kinds—thymine (THIE-MEEN), cytosine (SIET-oh-SEEN), adenine (AD-uh-NEEN), or guanine (GWAH-NEEN). The nitrogenous bases and their chemical structures, called rings, are shown above in Figure 10-7. The nitrogenous bases are often represented by the first letter of their name—T (thymine), C (cytosine), A (adenine), and G (guanine).

Nitrogenous bases that have a double ring of carbon and nitrogen atoms, such as adenine and guanine, are called purines (PYUR-eenz). Nitrogenous bases that have a single ring of carbon and nitrogen atoms, such as cytosine and thymine, are called pyrimidines (pi-RIM-uh-DEENZ).

Sirens Sleep Solution

Sirens Sleep Solution

Discover How To Sleep In Peace And Harmony In A World Full Of Uncertainty And Dramatically Improve Your Quality Of Life Today! Finally You Can Fully Equip Yourself With These “Must Have” Tools For Achieving Peace And Calmness And Live A Life Of Comfort That You Deserve!

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment