Classes Polychaeta And Hirudinea

About two-thirds of all annelids are members of the class Polychaeta. Polychaeta means "many bristles," which refers to the numerous setae that help polychaetes move. The setae project from parapodia, some of which function in gas exchange. Polychaetes differ from other annelids in that they have antennae and specialized mouthparts. They are also the only annelids that have a trochophore stage. Most polychaetes live in marine habitats. Some are free-swimming predators that use their strong jaws to feed on small animals. Others feed on sediment as they burrow through it or use their tentacles to scour the ocean bottom for food.

Hirudinea is the smallest class of annelids, consisting of about 500 species of leeches. Most leeches live in calm bodies of fresh water, but some species live among moist vegetation on land. Leeches have no setae or parapodia. At each end of a leech's body is a sucker that can attach to surfaces. By attaching the anterior sucker and then pulling the rest of the body forward, leeches can crawl along solid objects. Aquatic leeches can also swim with an undulating movement of their body. Many leeches are carnivores that prey on small invertebrates, but some species, including the one shown in Figure 35-12, are parasites that suck blood from other animals. After attaching themselves to the skin of their host, parasitic leeches secrete an anaesthetic that prevents the host from feeling their presence. They also secrete a substance that prevents blood from clotting. If undisturbed, a leech can ingest 10 times its own weight in blood.

Sirens Sleep Solution

Sirens Sleep Solution

Discover How To Sleep In Peace And Harmony In A World Full Of Uncertainty And Dramatically Improve Your Quality Of Life Today! Finally You Can Fully Equip Yourself With These “Must Have” Tools For Achieving Peace And Calmness And Live A Life Of Comfort That You Deserve!

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment