All organisms fall into one of three large groups based on their cell structure and chemical composition: the Bacteria, the Archaea, or the Eucarya. The Bacteria and the Archaea have a simple cell type and are termed prokaryotes. Both are identical in appearance but distinctly different in many aspects of their chemical composition. The Eucarya have a complex

1.4 Viruses, Viroids, and Prions 11

cell structure and are termed eukaryotes. The algae, fungi, protozoa, and multicellular parasites belong to this group. Bacteria, like all organisms, are classified according to the Binomial System of Nomenclature.

Name one feature that distinguishes the Bacteria from the Archaea.

List four groups of organisms in the eukaryotic world. List two features that distinguish prokaryotes from eukaryotes.

The binomial system of classification uses both a genus and a species name. Why bother with two names? Wouldn't it be easier to use a single, unique name for each different kind of microorganism?

Was this article helpful?

0 0
How To Get Rid Of Yeast Infections Once And For All

How To Get Rid Of Yeast Infections Once And For All

No more itching, odor or pain or your money is refunded! Safe and DRUG FREE Natural Yeast Infection Solutions Are you looking for a safe, fast and permanent cure for your chronic yeast infection? Get Rid of that Yeast Infection Right Now and For Good!

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment