Primary small bowel lymphoma constitutes about 1% of all gastrointestinal malignancies. There are five clinical distinct subtypes of primary small intestinal lymphoma:

♦ Adult Western type

♦ Paediatric type

♦ Immunoproliferative small intestinal disease

♦ Mediterranean type, enteropathy-associated T-cell lymphoma

♦ Hodgkin's lymphoma

Most small bowel lymphomas show intermediate or high histological grade. The diagnosis of small intestinal lymphoma is often made only at laparotomy. Radiological findings that might suggest this diagnosis include diffuse segment-thickened distal small bowel on a follow-through barium examination. CT can sometimes better demonstrate this finding. However, the radiological appearances are easily confused with other segmental diseases of the distal small intestine such as Crohn's disease.

0 0

Post a comment